Calendar

November 2017
M T W T F S S
« Jun    
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Categories

Active supporter of WikiPedia
Support Wikipedia

Geocaching

Profile for uwezi

BirdCam

In spring 2016 a pair of fieldfares has built a nest utside my office window.

Touch down!

Touch down!


Live:


A short summary:

  • On Friday April 8 I noticed activities outside the window. Until evening the shape of the nest had been established.
  • On Saturday April 9 I installed the first version of the webcam. The nest itself is reinforced with clay.
  • There is not much activity on Sunday April 10 – the clay is left to harden.
  • On Monday April 11 the nest is lined with a soft layer of hay.
  • Starting on Tuesday April 12 and including Saturday April 16 the female bird lays one egg each day.
  • The female starts to brood the eggs fulltime on Sunday April 17.
  • On Wednesday April 27 the first four eggs hatch. Now both parents come to the nest regularly and with big amounts of food.
  • The last egg hatches on Thursday April 28.
  • Monday May 2 the happy family life in the nest ends. A crow strikes several times and grabs one chick after the other. The fieldfares received reinforcement from 2 other fieldfares, chasing the crow, but in the end they did not manage to defend the nest.

2016-04-09:


2016-04-18:


2016-04-27:


2016-04-28:


2016-04-29:


2016-04-30:


2016-05-01:



2016-05-02: the small birds’ last day…